Jerry O’Connell: The Secret: Dare to Dream

Liane Buck
7 min readAug 8, 2020

--

Exclusive Interview

Jerry O’Connell stars in the new movie “The Secret: Dare to Dream” available everywhere on Demand.

Jerry O’Connell is an American actor, director, and talk show host, known for his roles as Quinn Mallory in the television series Sliders, Joe in Joe’s Apartment, and Frank Cushman in Jerry Maguire. His latest work is headlining in The Secret: Dare to Dream. a daring project inspired by the groundbreaking 2006 book by Rhonda Byrne that become a global phenomenon.

An Interview with Jerry O’Connell — The Secret: Dare to Dream

The Secret: Dare to Dream is a daring movie project inspired by The groundbreaking 2006 book by Rhonda Byrne has become a global phenomenon empowering millions to lead happier and more fulfilled lives, selling over 34 million copies worldwide, translated into 50 languages and appearing on the New York Times best-seller list for 190 weeks.

Jerry O’Connell, one of the headliners of this movie sat with Liane Buck to discuss the Law of Attraction, Life, and Positivity.

Liane Buck: The Law of Attraction is the philosophical perspective that says that there is a possibility of bad stuff happening in our lives that can lead to better things. My question for you would be, do you share the same perception of life as the metaphysical Law of Attraction?

Jerry O’Connell: Bad stuff happens but big but) there are different degrees of bad. Everyone comes across ‘bad’ at some point. It is how you absorb the bad, mentally, or physically, that guides ma a person. What happens to us is just one percent; how we react to it is ninety-nine percent. Have I bombed at an audition? Yes. Just yesterday. Have I given bad advice to my kids? Always. Have I been rude to others? Unfortunately, yes (Sorry to my wife). But have I learned from those “mistakes?” Absolutely. I think the bad stuff happens to help make you a better person — but you must be willing to suck it up, acknowledge it, and learn from it.

Liane Buck: The main message of the “Dare to Dream” movie is about the delicate alignment between intentions and positive vibrations. In your opinion, what is the recipe for inciting serendipity and the magic of second chances in our lives?

Jerry O’Connell: I don’t like darkness hanging over my head — love rain but could take a pass on those dark clouds. The Debbie Downer syndrome is a pretty scary thing — BTW, please look up ‘Debbie Downer’ SNL sketch with Rachel Dratch and I dare you to dream and try and not laugh. Life isn’t always unicorns and lollipops, but it sure isn’t a bowl of cherry pit either! We all face so much tough crap every day. I hope we can move forward for a better tomorrow with the knowledge learned today.

Liane Buck: Do you have a set of beliefs or spiritual practices? Do you practice the Law of Attraction?

Jerry O’Connell: I don’t consider myself an overtly spiritual practitioner, per se, but I do believe what you give is what you get in life. For the most part, I like to live with my glass (at least) ½ FULL. In the big picture, my life has been extremely good — health, well-being, a FAN-tastic wife, beautiful kids (when they listen), and loving family and friends. Whenever I am down, I remind myself of things I am grateful for. I just run down a list. Try it; it works!

Liane Buck: What are your thoughts about the Law of Abundance’s phrase “Success is a habit that is acquired with practice.”

Jerry O’Connell: Ha, now, how does one define “Success?!” I do believe that success in your profession, relationships, health, etc. is all intertwined. One action causes a reaction or ripple across those different areas. You get knocked down a lot in life- but it is how you react to the situation that can define you.

Liane Buck: According to Charles F. Haanel, “It is the combination of thought and love which forms the irresistible force of the law of attraction.” Clearly, love and family were vulnerable points for Tucker, and despite the intensity of his devotion and loving generosity towards Miranda and her kids, he had problems manifesting his dreams. What were the elements that were missing for Tucker’s success, in your opinion? Have you ever experienced the power of the Law of Attraction in your own life? If so, can you share with us an episode?

Jerry O’Connell: I was working on a TV show and having a little bit of a hard time. It was just a strange work environment. One of my co-workers, a great actor by the name of Boris Kodjoe, asked me what was up. I told him some of my problems, and he asked me to come to his dressing room. He gave me a copy of The Secret. I rolled my eyes and told him I didn’t need a self-help book; I just needed a new job. He made me promise I would crack it open. I liked him, so I did, and I started visualizing if they made a scripted movie based on THE SECRET, I would be one of the stars. Boom, here we are.

Liane Buck: Based on your perspective, in a world divided by so many different schools of thoughts and preconceptions, do you believe if people collectively decided to practice positivity and clarity of intentions, we could create a positive shift as a species?

Jerry O’Connell: Interesting question. I certainly do hope so. I am a realist and know the big issues of today (top of mind: like COVID19) will not be gone with the snap of my fingers. But I do try to do what I can in my world to make it a better place — I guess it’s more the “baby steps” approach. It may not be leaps and bounds but chipping away clearly and constantly to move life forward in a positive and constructive way.

Liane Buck: The difference between the two male characters in “Dare to Dream,” Bray Johnson and Tucker, includes the mastering of specific life skills. If your character Tucker was your friend in this lifetime, what advice would you give to him about getting what he wanted in life, and how do you think he would react to it?

Jerry O’Connell: Tricky. More than likely, I would advise him to take a step back and chill a little. Tucker’s actions were too forced. He was manufacturing situations to get what he wanted. You can’t buy true love. He was trying to buy her affection with grand gestures that just weren’t natural. His reaction initially would be to blow it off. But he is a smart guy who isn’t yet comfortable in his own skin. Over time, I feel he would come to appreciate the advice.

Liane Buck: Generosity is one of the elements of the Law of Attraction to create a magnet of manifestation. Tucker always rescued Miranda from her “Series of Unfortunate Events life,” many times also allowing her the space to grow the affection between them. Would you say, based on the precepts of the Law of Attraction, that your character Tucker had the power of intent but not the power of clarity, nor the mindset to manifest his objectives? Or do you think that their relationships just didn’t click?

Jerry O’Connell: I felt “Tucker” had both the power of intent AND the mindset to manifest his objective. It was the clarity that was his downfall. He just had blinders on when it came to reading & understand the human emotions Miranda was displaying.

Inspired by the iconic book, The Secret by author Rhonda Byrne, this feel-good hope-filled film reminds us all of the power of Law of Attraction and explores hope and gratitude in one’s darkest days, reminding us that it’s never too late to believe again. Follow Dare to Dream on Facebook

Join our Community!

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Originally published at https://omtimes.com on August 8, 2020.

--

--

Liane Buck

Creatrix|Editor|Recovering cat lady|Fairly Odd Mother of Tiny Creatures |Mystic| Blogger |Rebel without a Niche| Ecstatic Rainbow Mother by Day, Ninja by Night